Labor Disclosures

A “Labor Organization” is defined as any lawful organization that is composed, in whole or in part, of employees and that exists for the purpose, in whole or in part, of dealing with employers concerning:

  • Grievances,
  • Labor disputes,
  • Wages,
  • Rates of pay,
  • Hours of employment, or
  • Other terms and conditions of employment.

This definition includes employee associations and unions for employees in the public and private sector.

(Utah Code 20A-11-1501)

Any labor organization that makes expenditures totaling at least $750 in a calendar year is required to file a financial disclosure report with the Lt. Governor's Office; after reaching one of these thresholds, a labor organization is required to file all subsequent reports if it makes any expenditures or receives any contributions during that calendar year.

A labor organization does not need to file a report if it received no contributions and made no expenditures during any reporting period.

Required Reports

Due DateWhat the Report Covers
7 days before the primary election in regular election years All contributions and expenditures from January 1 to 12 days before the primary election.
September 30 of each year All contributions and expenditures from 12 days before the primary election to September 25 of that year.
7 days before the general election in regular election years All contributions and expenditures from September 26 to 12 days before the general election in even-numbered years.
January 10 of each year All contributions and expenditures from 12 days before the general election until December 31 in even-numbered years or August 26 in odd-numbered years.

Information Labor Organizations Parties Must Report (Utah Code 20A-11-1502)

The financial statement shall include the name and address of each reporting entity that received an expenditure or political issues expenditure of more than $50 from the labor organization, and the amount of each expenditure or political issues expenditure.

Submitting Reports

All reports must be submitted electronically via the website disclosures.utah.gov.

Any labor organization that fails to file its financial disclosure reports may be guilty of a class B misdemeanor and may be subject to a fine of $100. The Lt. Governor is required to report those who fail to file to the Attorney General.