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legal information, please consult Utah State Code or other appropriate legal 
resources. The contents of this guide are subject to change by legislative or 
judicial action. Additionally, the contents of this guide are exclusively for the 
use of Qualified Political Party (QPP) candidates. As of January 8, 2016, all  
political parties in Utah are classified as a Qualified Political Party.  
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Dear Candidate, 

 Congratulations on your decision to run for political office. The privilege of serving the 

citizens of Utah is a very rewarding job. 

 Running for office is exhilarating but can also be complicated and difficult to navigate - 

particularly if you are new to the political process. Therefore, we have created this guide to 

assist you in managing the steps you will need to complete in order to run a successful 

campaign. 

 If you have any questions, my office can be reached by calling (801) 538-1041 or 

emailing elections@utah.gov. 

 Good luck on the campaign trail! 

        Sincerely,  

 

     

 

        Spencer J. Cox 

        Lieutenant Governor 
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Before you begin campaigning, meeting voters, or collecting campaign donations, it is a good idea to make sure 
you meet certain requirements to become a candidate. Take a look at the table below to determine whether you 
meet the requirements of the office you plan to seek. 

REQUIREMENTS TO BECOME A CANDIDATE 
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Office Age Residency Other Qualifications Office Term 

U.S. Senate 30 
Resident of the U.S. for 14 years; 
resident of Utah when elected 

- 6 years 

U.S. House of 
Representatives 

25 Resident of Utah when elected - 2 years 

Governor  30 Resident of Utah for 5 years 
Qualified voter1; never 
convicted of a felony2 4 years 

Lieutenant  
Governor 

30 Resident of Utah for 5 years 
Qualified voter1; never 
convicted of a felony2 4 years 

Attorney General 25 Resident of Utah for 5 years 

Qualified voter1; never 
convicted of a felony2; 
admitted to practice 
before the Utah Supreme 
Court; has good standing 
with the Utah Bar 
Association 

4 years 

State Auditor 25 Resident of Utah for 5 years 
Qualified voter1; never 
convicted of a felony2 4 years 

State Treasurer 25 Resident of Utah for 5 years 
Qualified voter1; never 
convicted of a felony2 4 years 

State Senate3 25 
Resident of Utah for 3 years, 6 
months living in the Senate district 
prior to the last day of filing 

Qualified voter1; never 
convicted of a felony2 4 years 

State House of 
Representatives3 25 

Resident of Utah for 3 years; 6 
months living in the House district 
prior to the last day of filing 

Qualified voter1; never 
convicted of a felony2 2 years 

Citizenship 

U.S. citizen for   
9 years 

U.S. citizen for   
7 years 

U.S. Citizen 

U.S. Citizen 

U.S. Citizen 

U.S. Citizen 

U.S. Citizen 

U.S. Citizen 

U.S. Citizen 

1. A qualified voter (1) is a citizen of the United States; (2) is a resident of Utah; (3) will, on the date of that election: be at least 18 
years old and have been a resident of Utah for 30 days immediately before that election; (4) and has registered to vote.  

2. A person convicted of a felony loses the right to hold office until (1) all felony convictions have been expunged, OR (2) ten years 
have passed since the most recent felony conviction AND the person has paid all court-ordered restitution and fines AND the 
person has completed probation, been granted parole, or completed the term of incarceration associated with the felony.  

3. No person holding any public office of profit or trust under authority of the United States, or of this State, shall be a member of the 
Legislature: provided that appointments in the State Militia, and the offices of notary public, justice of the peace, United States 
commissioner, and postmaster of the fourth class, shall not, within the meaning of this section, be considered offices of profit or 
trust.  

 



Beginning in 2016, partisan candidates running for a Qualified Political Party’s nomination have THREE paths 
to get on the primary election ballot:  
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1) Gather signatures from voters 

2) Go through the party’s caucus and convention system 

3) Gather signatures from voters AND go through the party’s caucus & convention system 

  DECIDE WHICH PRIMARY ELECTION PATH TO FOLLOW 

Below is a simple chart that illustrates the different requirements of each path. Turn to pages 6-9 for more 
information on the caucus and convention system and pages 10-18 for information on gathering signatures. If 
you plan on pursuing both paths, be sure to read both sections. If you pursue both paths, your name will only 
appear on the primary election ballot once. 

CANDIDATE 

CAUCUS & 
CONVENTION PATH 

GATHERING 
SIGNATURES PATH BOTH PATHS 

1. Get to know the caucus & 
convention system 

2. Determine your signature 
requirements 

3. Declare intent to gather 
signatures 

4. Begin gathering signatures 

5. Declare candidacy 

6. Submit required number of 
signatures 

7. Attend your party’s convention 

8. PRIMARY ELECTION 

MORE INFO: PAGES 6 - 18 

1. Get to know the caucus & 
convention system 

2. Declare candidacy 

3. Attend your party’s 
convention 

4. Party certifies your name 
for the primary election 
ballot 

5. PRIMARY ELECTION 

MORE INFO: PAGES 6 - 9 

1. Determine your signature 
requirements 

2. Declare intent to gather 
signatures 

3. Begin gathering signatures 

4. Declare candidacy 

5. Submit required number of 
signatures 

6. PRIMARY ELECTION 

MORE INFO: PAGES 10 - 18 



  CAUCUS &   
  CONVENTION PATH 

The caucus and convention system is one path you can take to get your name 
on the primary election ballot. If you select this path, you must complete these 
steps: 

STEP 1 
GET TO KNOW THE CAUCUS & CONVENTION SYSTEM (PAGE 7) 
 

STEP 2 
DECLARE CANDIDACY BETWEEN MARCH 11, 2016 AND        
5:00 P.M. ON MARCH 17, 2016 (PAGE 8) 

 

STEP 3 
ATTEND YOUR PARTY’S CONVENTION (PAGE 9) 
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  GET TO KNOW THE CAUCUS & CONVENTION SYSTEM  STEP 1 

 STATE CONVENTION  COUNTY CONVENTION 

 2: COUNTY & STATE  
      CONVENTIONS 
 

Delegates gather at the party’s 
conventions to vote for candidates.  

Delegates at the county convention 
vote for candidates for county 
offices and legislative districts that 
are located entirely within the 
county.  

Delegates at the state convention 
vote for candidates for federal 
office, statewide office (e.g., 
governor), and legislative districts 
that are located in multiple counties. 

 

3: PRIMARY ELECTION    
Candidates that receive a certain 
percentage of delegates’ votes will be 
nominated and their name will be placed 
on the primary election ballot. The primary 
election will be held on Tuesday, June 28, 
2016. 

PRIMARY        
BALLOT 

County   
Delegates 

State      
Delegates 

A caucus is a neighborhood meeting of a 
political party’s members. During the 
meeting, the caucus members choose 
representatives for the caucus to attend 
either the county or state convention. 
These representatives are known as 
delegates. 

1: CAUCUS MEETINGS 
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                 DECLARE CANDIDACY  STEP 2 
All candidates must declare candidacy with their filing officer. If you choose to gather signatures in addition to 
participating in your party’s convention, you do not need to declare candidacy twice. 

You must declare candidacy sometime between Friday, March 11, 2016 and 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, March 
17, 2016. Late declarations cannot be accepted. 
 

 

You must declare candidacy in person with the filing officer. Refer to the table below to determine your filing 
officer. Legislative candidates should note that they no longer can declare candidacy with the Lieutenant 
Governor. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You must submit the forms listed below to declare candidacy. Your filing officer will have these forms 
available during the filing period. Once you declare candidacy, your declaration forms will be publicly posted 
on elections.utah.gov. 

 

1. Declaration of Candidacy Form. This form requires your name, contact information, party,  and a 
statement of which path(s) to the primary election ballot you intend to take. You will also be 
required to write your name exactly as you would like it printed on the ballot. You may also provide 
your campaign’s email address, campaign website, and Twitter handle on the declaration form.  

2. Financial Disclosure/Conflict of Interest Form. This form is required for candidates for 
statewide and legislative offices. It requires information about your employment, business activity, 
and financial interests. It may take some time to complete, so you may want to review or fill out 
this form beforehand. 

3. Pledge of Fair Campaign Practices (Optional). This form is a pledge to conduct your campaign 
according to the statements outlined in the pledge. It is entirely optional.  

(Continued on the next page.) 

 

 

 WHERE DO I DECLARE CANDIDACY? 

Candidate Filing Officer 

Federal Office Lieutenant Governor 

Statewide Office  Lieutenant Governor 

Multi-County Legislative Office County Clerk of the county in which you reside 

Single-County Legislative Office County Clerk of the county in which you reside 

 WHEN DO I DECLARE CANDIDACY? 

 HOW DO I DECLARE CANDIDACY? 

elections.utah.gov
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 HOW DO I DECLARE CANDIDACY? (Continued) 

You must also pay a filing fee when you 
declare candidacy. The table to the right lists 
the filing fee for each office.  

If you are unable to pay, you can file an 
affidavit of impecuniosity and the filing officer 
will determine whether the fee will be waived. 
You may be required to provide evidence that 
you are unable to pay. 

Candidate Filing Fee 

U.S. Senate $1,355.00 

U.S. House of Representatives $485.00 

Governor $800.00 

Attorney General $762.50 

Lt. Governor, State Auditor,          
& State Treasurer 

$725.00 

State Senate $111.43 

State House of Representatives $80.71 

 

                   ATTEND YOUR PARTY’S CONVENTION  STEP 3 
If you are a candidate for a legislative office that is located entirely within a single county, you will attend the 
county convention. County conventions are typically held sometime between late March and mid-April. 

If you are a candidate for federal office, statewide office, or a legislative district that is located in multiple 
counties, you will attend the statewide convention. Parties typically hold their statewide convention in late April 
after the county conventions. 

Contact your party to determine the exact date of your convention (see page 36 for your party’s contact 
information). 

Your party’s constitution or bylaws may require you to perform additional steps to qualify for the convention. 
You should contact your party to determine if any such steps exist, and, if so, how to complete these steps. 

 

 WHAT IF I CAN’T DECLARE CANDIDACY IN PERSON? 

Utah law makes it clear that you must declare your candidacy in person; however, it does allow you to 
designate another person to file on your behalf if you are located outside of Utah during the entire declaration 
period due to: 

 Employment with the State of Utah or the United States, or 

 Active duty status with the military, National Guard, the Merchant Marine, the commissioned  
corps of the Public Health Service, or the commissioned corps of the NOAA.   

If you meet any of these requirements, you must use an electronic device that allows you and the filing officer 
to hear and see each other (e.g., Skype, FaceTime). Candidates with family emergencies, vacations, or other 
reasons cannot declare candidacy this way. 



  GATHERING    
  SIGNATURES PATH 

Gathering voters’ signatures is one path you can take to get your name on the primary 
election ballot.  If you select this path, you must complete these steps: 

STEP 1 
DETERMINE YOUR SIGNATURE REQUIREMENTS (PAGE 11) 

 

STEP 2 
DECLARE INTENT TO GATHER SIGNATURES BETWEEN               
JANUARY 4, 2016 AND 5:00 P.M. ON MARCH 17, 2016 (PAGE 11) 

 

STEP 3 
BEGIN GATHERING SIGNATURES (PAGE 12) 
 

STEP 4 
DECLARE CANDIDACY BETWEEN MARCH 11, 2016 AND               
5:00 P.M. ON MARCH 17, 2016 (PAGE 15) 
 

STEP 5 
SUBMIT YOUR PETITION SIGNATURES AT LEAST 2 WEEKS         
BEFORE YOUR PARTY’S CONVENTION (PAGE 16) 
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The number of signatures you need to gather depends on the office you are seeking. The table below 
outlines signature requirements: 

 WHEN DO I DECLARE MY INTENT TO GATHER SIGNATURES? 

Candidate Signatures 

U.S. Senate 28,000 signature 

U.S. House of Representatives 7,000 signatures 

Statewide Office 28,000 signatures 

Utah State Senate 2,000 signatures 

Utah State House of Representatives 1,000 signatures 

A good rule of thumb is to collect more signatures than what is required because not every signature you will 
collect will be valid. 

All voters must meet the following requirements to sign a petition: 

Registered to vote (or will be registered before the signature is verified by the filing officer) 

Live in the district or area of the office you are seeking 

Allowed to vote in your party’s primary election 

Did not sign a petition for another candidate running for the same office  

If an individual does not meet these requirements, their signature will not be counted. For example, if you 
are running in a legislative district, signatures from voters living in other legislative districts will not count. 

Utah law prohibits voters from signing a petition for more than one candidate per office. If a voter signs your 
petition and another petition of a candidate running for the same office, the signature will only count for the 
candidate that submits the voter’s signature for verification first. 

Before you begin to gather signatures, you must file a notice of intent to gather signatures. You cannot 
collect any signatures before filing this notice. 

You must declare your notice of intent to gather signatures sometime between Monday, January 4, 2016 
and 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, March 17, 2016. Late submissions cannot be accepted. 

   STEP 2   DECLARE INTENT TO GATHER SIGNATURES 

   STEP 1   DETERMINE YOUR SIGNATURE REQUIREMENTS 
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Candidate Filing Officer 

Federal Office Lieutenant Governor 

Statewide Office Lieutenant Governor 

Multi-County Legislative Office County Clerk of the county in which you reside 

Single-County Legislative Office County Clerk of the county in which you reside 

 HOW DO I DECLARE MY INTENT TO GATHER SIGNATURES?  

You need to submit one form to declare your intent to gather signatures. The form is simple and it should 
only take a few minutes to complete. Your filing officer will have this form available during the filing period, 
but if you would like to fill out the form beforehand, you may find a printable version on the Lieutenant 
Governor’s website, elections.utah.gov. Your form will be publicly posted on this website as well. There is no 
fee to declare your intent to gather signatures. 

Once you submit your form, the filing officer will provide you with four documents:  

 Instructions on the signature gathering process 

 Petition cover sheet (Microsoft Word format) 

 Petition signature sheet (PDF format) 

 Petition verification sheet (PDF format) 

Continue to Step 3 for instructions on how to print and compile petition packets using the petition cover, 
signature, and verification sheets. 

 

  BEGIN GATHERING SIGNATURES  STEP 3 

You may begin gathering signatures after you file your declaration of intent to gather signatures. Steps 3.1 
and 3.2 provide useful information on how to compile and circulate your petition packets. 

 STEP 3.1: Compile your petition packets (page 13). 

STEP 3.2: Circulate your petition packets (page 14). 

 WHERE DO I DECLARE MY INTENT TO GATHER SIGNATURES? 

You must declare your intent to gather signatures in person with the filing officer. Refer to the table below to 
determine your filing officer. Legislative candidates should note that they cannot declare intent to gather 
signatures at the Lieutenant Governor’s office.  

 

http://elections.utah.gov/candidate-information
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  COMPILE YOUR PETITION PACKETS  STEP 3.1 

 

PRINTING & BINDING: You are responsible for printing and binding your petition packets. Petition packets 
must be bound across the top in at least 3 places. You may use staples or spiral binding. Packets must be 
bound before it is circulated, and they cannot be taken apart or rearranged once bound; your packets will be 
rejected if you do so.  

BARCODES: When you receive your petition packet materials from the filing officer, you will notice that 
there is a barcode on each sheet. These barcodes are unique to each candidate; therefore, you may not use 
petition materials from other candidates or campaigns. 

Take a look at the graphic below that illustrates how packets should be arranged and bound: 

This sheet includes the office you are 
seeking, your name, party affiliation, and 
address. It will provide a space to insert 
your photograph.  

Each petition packet needs 1 cover 
sheet. 

ARRANGEMENT: Petition packets must include the sheets displayed below and arranged in the same order: 

Signature Sheet Verification Sheet Cover Sheet 

1 2 3 

This sheet is where voters will sign your 
petition. Voters provide their name, 
signature, birth date or age, address, 
and the date.  

Each petition packet may have up to 50 
signature sheets. 

The person circulating the petition packet 
must complete this sheet. The circulator 
must count the number of signatures in the 
packet and sign. A packet must be 
circulated by only one person, and the 
circulator may not sign a signature sheet in 
a packet they circulate. 

Each petition packet needs 1 verification 
sheet. 

1 Cover                    
Sheet 

Up to 50 
Signature Sheets 

1 Verification 
Sheet 

Bind at the Top 
in 3 Places 
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      STEP 3.2  CIRCULATE YOUR PETITION PACKETS 

After you print and bind your petition packets you are ready to gather signatures! Below are some useful tips 
and rules regarding signature gathering: 

 WHO CAN CIRCULATE PETITIONS? 

Any resident of Utah that is over 18 years of age may circulate a petition. They do not need to be a registered 
voter; however, if they are registered the county clerk or Lieutenant Governor’s office can easily verify the 
circulator’s age. If a circulator does not meet these requirements, the signatures they gathered cannot be 
counted. 
 
A circulator must fill out and sign the verification sheet (the back sheet) of every petition packet they use to 
gather signatures, but a circulator cannot sign their packets’ signature sheets. If a circulator wants to sign a 
petition, they must sign the petition packet of another circulator.  
 
Additionally, each individual packet must be used by only one circulator. If you have multiple circulators, they 
will each need a packet.  

 VOLUNTEERS & PAID SIGNATURE GATHERERS 

  

CAMPAIGN FINANCE NOTE $ 
Volunteer	time	to	gather	signatures	
does	not	qualify	as	campaign	
contributions.	If	volunteers	are	paid	by	
a	third	entity	(e.g.,	a	political	action	
committee	or	corporation),	this	is	
considered	an	in‐kind	donation.	Refer	to	
page	21	for	more	information	on	in‐
kind	donations.	

You can use volunteers to gather signatures, but you can 
also pay or hire signature gatherers. If you choose to pay 
or hire signature circulators, keep these rules in mind: 

 

 Circulators cannot be paid based on the total number 
of signatures they collect 

 Circulators can be paid based on the total number of 
valid signatures they collect 

 Circulators can be paid based on an hourly rate or by 
any other legal method 

 

 REGISTERING PETITION SIGNERS TO VOTE 

If an individual wishes to sign your petition but is not registered to vote or affiliated with your party, they may 
sign the petition if they also complete a voter registration form. You may provide them with a voter registration 
form. Quickly submit the form to the county clerk for processing to ensure that the individual’s voter 
registration form is processed before their petition signature. 



      STEP 3.3  CIRCULATE YOUR PETITIONS (Continued)   STEP 4   DECLARE CANDIDACY 

15 

All candidates must declare candidacy with their filing officer. Declaring candidacy is not the same as 
declaring your intent to gather signatures.  If you choose to participate in your party’s convention in addition to 
gathering signatures, you do not need to declare candidacy twice. 

WHEN DO I DECLARE CANDIDACY? 

You must declare candidacy sometime between Friday, March 11, 2016 and 5:00 p.m. on Thursday,       
March 17, 2016. Late declarations cannot be accepted. 

WHERE DO I DECLARE CANDIDACY? 

You must declare candidacy in person with your filing officer. Refer to the table below to determine your filing 
officer. Legislative candidates should note that they no longer can declare candidacy at the Lieutenant 
Governor’s office. 

Candidate Filing Officer 

Federal Office Lieutenant Governor 

Statewide Office Lieutenant Governor 

Multi-County Legislative Office County Clerk of the county in which you reside 

Single-County Legislative Office County Clerk of the county in which you reside 

HOW DO I DECLARE CANDIDACY? 

You must submit the forms listed below to declare candidacy. Your filing officer will have these forms availa-
ble during the filing period. Once you declare candidacy, your declaration forms will be publicly posted on 
elections.utah.gov. 

 

1. Declaration of Candidacy Form. This form requires your name, contact information, party,  and a 
statement of which path(s) to the primary election ballot you intend to take. You will also be re-
quired to write your name exactly as you would like it printed on the ballot. You may also provide 
your campaign’s email address, campaign website, and Twitter handle on the declaration form.  

2. Financial Disclosure/Conflict of Interest Form. This form is required for candidates for 
statewide and legislative offices. It requires information about your employment, business activity, 
and financial interests. It may take some time to complete, so you may want to review or fill out this 
form beforehand. 

3. Pledge of Fair Campaign Practices (Optional). This form is a pledge to conduct your campaign 
according to the statements outlined in the pledge. It is entirely optional.  

(Continued on the next page.) 

http://elections.utah.gov/election-resources/2016-candidate-signatures


HOW DO I DECLARE CANDIDACY? (Continued) 
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You must also pay a filing fee when you 
declare candidacy. The table to the right lists 
the filing fee for each office.  

If you are unable to pay, you can file an 
affidavit of impecuniosity and the filing officer 
will determine whether the fee will be waived. 
You may be required to provide evidence that 
you are unable to pay. 

Candidate Filing Fee 

U.S. Senate $1,355.00 

U.S. House of Representatives $485.00 

Governor $800.00 

Attorney General $762.50 

Lt. Governor, State Auditor,          
& State Treasurer 

$725.00 

State Senate $111.43 

State House of Representatives $80.71 

  STEP 5   SUBMIT YOUR PETITION SIGNATURES 

In order to verify the signatures on your petitions, you will need to submit the signatures to the appropriate 
election official (which may differ from your filing officer). Follow the guidelines below to submit your 
signatures. 

WHEN DO I SUBMIT PETITION SIGNATURES? 

You may submit your petition signatures after you gather the required amount of signatures anytime before 
the deadline. For example, if you are required to collect 1,000 signatures, you cannot submit any petition 
signatures until you have collected at least 1,000 signatures. 

The deadline to submit your petition signatures is 2 weeks prior to your party’s nominating convention. The 
deadline will be extended to the following business day if the 2 week deadline falls on a weekend or holiday.  

(Continued on the next page.) 

 WHAT IF I CAN’T DECLARE CANDIDACY IN PERSON? 

Utah law makes it clear that you must declare your candidacy in person; however, it does allow you to desig-
nate another person to file on your behalf if you are located outside of Utah during the entire declaration peri-
od due to: 

 Employment with the State of Utah or the United States, or 

 Active duty status with the military, National Guard, the Merchant Marine, the commissioned  
corps of the Public Health Service, or the commissioned corps of the NOAA.   

If you meet any of these requirements, you must use an electronic device that allows you and the filing officer 
to hear and see each other (e.g., Skype, FaceTime). Candidates with family emergencies, vacations, or other 
reasons cannot declare candidacy this way. 



WHEN DO I SUBMIT PETITION SIGNATURES? (Continued) 
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This deadline applies even if you are not participating in the convention. Contact your party (page 36) to 
determine your convention’s exact date. 

You are encouraged to submit your petition signatures earlier than the deadline. Submitting your petition 
signatures early will allow you to gather and submit more signatures if you fail to reach the required amount of 
signatures with your first submission. 

WHERE DO I SUBMIT PETITION SIGNATURES? 

Refer to the table below to determine where you should submit petition signatures. This table also shows who 
will verify your petition signatures.  

Multi-county legislative candidates should note that although you declare your intent to gather signatures and 
candidacy with your county clerk, you must submit petition signatures to the Lieutenant Governor.  

Candidate Submit Petition Signatures To/Petitions Verified By 

Federal Office Lieutenant Governor 

Statewide Office Lieutenant Governor 

Multi-County Legislative Office Lieutenant Governor (NOT your county clerk) 

Single-County Legislative Office County Clerk of the county in which you reside 

HOW DO I SUBMIT PETITION SIGNATURES? 

You or a designated agent must submit the petition signatures in person. You or your designated agent then 
must complete a petition submission form that includes: 

 Name and contact information 

 An estimate of the number of petition packets being submitted 

 An estimate of the number of signatures being submitted 

 Your or your designated agent’s signature 

The election official will have this form available, but if you would like to fill out this form beforehand, you may 
find a printable version of the form on the Lieutenant Governor’s website, elections.utah.gov.  

After you complete the form and the election official accepts the submission, the election official will provide a 
copy of the form. Keep this copy for your records. 

CAN I SUPPLEMENT MY PETITION SIGNATURES? 

You may submit additional petition signatures if you have not met the signature threshold and you are 
submitting the supplemental signatures before the deadline. The process and requirements to submit these 
signatures will be identical to those of your first submission. 

http://elections.utah.gov/candidate-information


(Continued) 
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HOW WILL PETITION SIGNATURES BE VERIFIED? 

Election officials will verify that each signer on your petition is qualified to sign your petition (refer to page 11 
to read about these qualifications). 

Election officials will also verify petitions in the order in which they are received. If your opponent submits 
their petition signatures days, hours, or even minutes before you, election officials will verify your opponent’s 
petition signatures before yours. 

A submission of supplemental signatures will be considered a new submission and will take its place at the 
bottom of the verification order. The graphic below illustrates this process: 

As noted in Step 1, voters may only sign for one candidate per office. If a voter signs your petition and a 
petition of another candidate running for the same office, the signature will only count for the candidate who 
submits the signature for verification first. Therefore, it is advisable to submit your petition signatures early to 
ensure that these duplicate signatures count for your petition and not your opponent’s. 

Election officials will not continue to verify your petition signatures if you have met your signature requirement, 
or if you withdraw your candidacy or intent to gather signatures (see page 34 for more information on 
withdrawing).  

The time required to verify your petition signatures will depend on the size of your petition and the number of 
petitions submitted before yours. Avoid submitting your petition near the deadline, as the number of 
submissions is expected to increase during that period of time. 

Regardless of your petition size and submission date, the election official will complete verification of your 
petition signatures at least 1 day before your party’s convention (about 13 days after the submission 
deadline). 

HOW WILL I KNOW IF I MEET THE SIGNATURE REQUIREMENT? 

Once your petition signatures are verified, the election official will notify you within 1 business day whether 
you met the signature requirement. If the signature verification process is still underway, you can check on 
your petition’s status on the Lieutenant Governor’s website, elections.utah.gov. 

Candidate A 
Submits Signatures on          

February 1st 
1ST Signatures Verified 

Candidate B 
Submits Signatures on          

February 2nd 
2ND Signatures Verified 

Candidate B 

Submits Supplemental 

Signatures on March 1st 

at 9:00 am 
3RD Signatures Verified 

Candidate A 

Submits Supplemental 

Signatures on March 1st 

at 9:30 am 

4TH Signatures Verified 

http://elections.utah.gov/election-resources/2016-candidate-signatures


  CAMPAIGN FINANCE      
  & REPORTING 

Reporting your campaign finances is required by law; however, different types of candidates report with 
different government entities. Refer to the chart below: 

 

CANDIDATE    FILE WITH 

Federal Candidates    Federal Election Commission (fec.gov) 

Statewide & Legislative Candidates Lieutenant Governor’s Office (disclosures.utah.gov) 

 

If you are a federal candidate, contact the Federal Election Commission (fec.gov) for more information 
about federal campaign finance regulations and disclosing your campaign finances. 

Failure to adhere to campaign finance requirements may lead to fines and disqualification. Continue 
reading the sections below find out how to follow these requirements. 
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OPENING A CAMPAIGN BANK ACCOUNT (PAGE 20) 

CONTRIBUTIONS (PAGE 20) 

EXPENDITURES (PAGE 22) 

REPORTING SCHEDULE & DEADLINES (PAGE 23) 

HOW TO REPORT YOUR CAMPAIGN FINANCES (PAGE 24) 

WHEN TO START & STOP REPORTING (PAGE 28) 

PENALTIES & FINES (PAGE 29) 

disclosures.utah.gov
www.fec.gov
www.fec.gov


   1 OPENING A CAMPAIGN BANK ACCOUNT 

If you are a statewide and legislative candidate, opening a bank account for your campaign is one of the first 
things you must do. Utah law does not allow statewide and legislative candidates to use personal or business 
banking accounts for a campaign — you must use a separate bank account that is only used for campaign 
purposes. You are, however, allowed to contribute money from your personal accounts to your campaign 
account. 

Some banks require an employer identification number (EIN) to open an account for your campaign. The 
Lieutenant Governor’s office or your county clerk cannot provide you with this number. Contact the IRS for 
more information (irs.gov). 

20 

   2 CONTRIBUTIONS 

WHAT IS A CONTRIBUTION? 

A contribution is anything of value that your campaign receives. Utah Code §20A-11-101(6) provides a 
thorough definition of a contribution, but here are some common types: 

Every contribution your campaign receives must be reported. When reporting contributions you must include 
the contribution’s value, the contributor’s name, the contributor’s address, and the date. 
 
Contributions do not include unpaid volunteering or goods or services that your campaign did not authorize or 
coordinate.  

GIFTS 

MONEY DONATIONS 

LOANS 

SERVICES 

WHO CAN CONTRIBUTE TO MY CAMPAIGN? 

Any individual, corporation, PAC, or political party may contribute to your campaign. Utah law does not limit 
how much a contributor may contribute to your campaign.  

If you receive a contribution from a PAC or political party, they may be required to file financial disclosure 
reports as well. It is recommended you notify these entities of this possible requirement to ensure they comply 
with the law and avoid fines.  

 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20a/Chapter11/20a-11-S101.html
https://www.irs.gov/Charities-&-Non-Profits/Political-Organizations/Filing-Requirements-1
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IN-KIND CONTRIBUTIONS 

You may be asking yourself: how can I report a contribution when it isn’t a monetary donation? If your 

campaign receives anything of value that isn’t monetary, this is considered an in-kind contribution. Just like 

monetary donations, you must report all in-kind contributions. 

If your campaign receives an in-kind contribution, you need to determine its value in order to report it. Doing 
this is often as simple as asking the contributor. For example, if a farmers’ market usually charges $100 for 
booth space and gave the space to your campaign for free, you received a $100 in-kind donation from the 
farmers’ market. 

Please note that while the in-kind amount is displayed in your ledger and on your reports, it will not be 
included in the running totals or the balances. For example, if you have a $0 balance and receive a $200 in-
kind contribution of internet services on July 4, 2016, you will simply add a $200 contribution to your ledger, 
check the in-kind box, and add a comment regarding the internet services. Your balance will remain $0 (the 
original amount). (For more information about your ledger, refer to page 25).   

AGGREGATING CONTRIBUTIONS 

   

Prior to May 10, 2016 a candidate or officeholder could report the aggregate value of contributions worth $50 
or less. After the passage of H.B. 290 (2016), you must report a detailed listing of each contribution. This 
means that you must report the following: 
 

 The name and address of each individual or source making the contribution 

 The exact amount or value of each contribution 

 The date on which the contribution was received 

 

You cannot use a campaign contribution if it is from an anonymous source and greater than $50. If you receive 
an anonymous contribution greater than $50, you must gift the money to the state, county, city, or a non-profit 
501(c)(3) organization within 30 days of receiving the contribution. 

ANONYMOUS CONTRIBUTIONS 

CONTRIBUTIONS THROUGH PASS-THROUGH ENTITIES 

Many candidates use pass-through entities to collect donations (such as PayPal, Act Blue, or GoFundMe). 
When you report your contributions, do not report that you received the contribution from the pass-through 
entity (unless the actual corporation donated to your campaign). Instead, report the original source of the 
contribution. 

http://le.utah.gov/~2016/bills/static/HB0290.html


CONTRIBUTIONS 
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  3 EXPENDITURES 

WHAT IS AN EXPENDITURE? 

An expenditure is anything of value that your campaign spends. Utah Code §20A-11-101(15) provides an 
extensive definition of an expenditure, but here are some common types: 

Every expenditure that your campaign makes must be reported. When you report expenditures you must 
include the amount, date, and clear purpose of each expenditure. 

COMPENSATION FOR STAFF OR SERVICES 

PURCHASES OR PAYMENTS 

CAMPAIGN LOAN REPAYMENTS 

PROHIBITED EXPENDITURES 

Utah law prohibits using your campaign funds for you or your family’s personal use. Generally, if an 
expenditure is not related to your campaign or officeholder duties and benefits you or your family, the 
expenditure is prohibited. Below is a non-inclusive list of prohibited expenditures: 

 Rent, mortgage, or utilities for your personal 
property (campaign office space is exempt) 

 Household food items or supplies 

 Clothing (except clothes that have your 
campaign’s logo and are used in the campaign) 

 Admission to events 

 Dues or fees to clubs or gyms 

 Salary for anyone who does not work for your 
campaign 

 Vehicle payment 

 Personal debt 

 Personal service (attorney & physician fees) 

 Membership fee to a professional organization 

 Travel expenses unrelated to the campaign 

 Meal expenses unrelated to the campaign 

 Vacation expenses 

MAKING EXPENDITURES USING CREDIT CARDS 

Many candidates use credit cards to pay for campaign expenses. When you report your expenditures, do not 
put your monthly credit card payment as an expenditure. Instead, report each transaction on your credit card’s 
billing statement. 
 
For example, if you spent $200 on your credit card, report all transactions (such as $100 for printing and $100 
for signs) instead of the lump $200 sum. 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20a/Chapter11/20a-11-S101.html


   4 REPORTING SCHEDULE & DEADLINES 

In addition to regular contribution reporting (see above), state and legislative candidates are required to submit 
5 reports to the Lieutenant Governor’s office throughout the 2016 election year. 

REPORT NAME DUE DATE DATES INCLUDED IN THE REPORT 

Convention 7 days before convention (11:59 p.m.) January 1, 2016 - 5 days before convention report is due 

Primary Election June 21, 2016 (11:59 p.m.) 4 days before convention report due - June 16, 2016 

September 30th September 30, 2016 (11:59 p.m.) June 17, 2016 - September 25, 2016t Name 

General Election November 1, 2016 (11:59 p.m.) September 26, 2016 - October 27, 2016 

Year-End January 10, 2017 (11:59 p.m.) October 28, 2016 - December 31, 2016 

When filing reports you must include all campaign contributions received and expenditures made between the 
dates included in each report. Turn to the next page to learn how to file these reports. 

Reporting deadlines are the same for all candidates except for the convention report. This report is due 7 
days before your party’s convention—even if you do not attend. Contact your party (page 36) to determine the 
exact date of the convention. If the 7-days-before-date falls on a weekend or holiday, your report will be due 
the following business day. 
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30-DAY & 3-BUSINESS DAY CONTRIBUTION REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

You must regularly report your campaign contributions—including in-

kind contributions. You must report each contribution within 30 
calendar days of receiving it (see box to the right). 

If you have an opponent for the convention, primary election, or 

general election, you must report all campaign contributions within 3 
business days beginning 30 days before the convention, primary 
election, or general election. If the office you are seeking is 
contested, refer to the table below to determine when the 3 business 
day reporting requirement begins: 

  !               AVOID FINES: 

   Because several months have 31  

days, reporƟng your contribuƟons on the 

same day of each month can lead to late 

reporƟng. For example, if you receive a 

contribuƟon on January 1st but report it 

on February 1st, the contribuƟon was 

reported aŌer the 30 day deadline 

because there are 31 days in January. 

Convention/Election 3-Business Day Requirement Begins: 

30 Days Prior to Convention 
Contact your party to determine your 
convention date 

30 Days Prior to Primary Election Sunday, May 29, 2016 

30 Days Prior to General Election Sunday, October 9, 2016 

FINANCIAL DISCLOSURE REPORT DEADLINES 

   What exactly is “Received?” 

 A contribuƟon is considered received   

 when you:  

 Deposit the check 

 Have the cash in hand 

 Benefit from an in‐kind contribuƟon 



   5 HOW TO REPORT YOUR CAMPAIGN FINANCES 

All state and legislative candidates must file financial disclosure reports on the Lieutenant Governor’s website, 
disclosures.utah.gov. Candidates should follow the steps below to report contributions, expenditures, and file 
reports. 
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3. The “Create a New Web Account” screen will appear. Here 
you will create a username which allows you to log into the 
disclosures website. This is NOT the same as registering 
your campaign; that will be done in the next step. 

 
       Fill out your personal information and create your username  
       and password. Click  “Register.” 

4. After you have created your username, call the Lieutenant   
       Governor’s office (801-538-1041) to register your campaign.  
 
       You will be asked for your contact information as  
       well as contact information for any campaign committee  
       members you may have. This information will be available to 

the public. 
 

STEP 1: CREATE A USERNAME & REGISTER YOUR CAMPAIGN 

1. Using a web browser, go to disclosures.utah.gov. 

2. Select “New User” on the toolbar located on the left of 
your screen. Skip this and the next item if you already 
have a username. 

STEP 2: NAVIGATE YOUR FINANCIAL LEDGER 

1. All contributions and expenditures are entered in your 
financial ledger. This is also where reports are filed. 
To access your ledger, log into disclosures.utah.gov 
with your username and then click on the “My Folder” 
tab on the left of your screen.  

 

(Continued on the next page.) 

disclosures.utah.gov
disclosures.utah.gov
disclosures.utah.gov
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STEP 2: NAVIGATE YOUR FINANCIAL LEDGER (Continued) 

2. On the “My Folder” screen, you will notice three red 
links in the middle of the screen under the bolded 

word “Actions.” Select “Financial Ledger.” 

 In the top left corner are the names of 
the required reports for a given year. 
When you enter a contribution or 
expenditure, the ledger automatically 
sorts them under the appropriate report 
based on date. You can view reporting 
period dates by hovering your cursor 
over a report name. To see all 
contributions and expenditures under a 
particular report, click “Show Details” 
next to the report’s name.  

 At the top of the ledger are the columns 
for contributions, expenditures, and 
account balance. 

      To add a contribution or expenditure,   
      simply click “Add” in the appropriate  
      column. Balance totals will be displayed  
      in the column on the right and in the  
      grey row.  
  

 At the far right of the ledger are the 
“File Report” buttons. You only need 
to click “File Report” once you have 
entered all contributions and 
expenditures for a reporting period.  

 
      You may make changes to a report  
      once you submit it, but any changes  
      will be publicly displayed as  
      amendments. 
 
(Continued on the next page.) 

3.   Familiarize yourself with the financial ledger:  

http://www.disclosures.utah.gov/File/97
http://www.disclosures.utah.gov/File/97
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(Continued) 

 EXPENDITURES. Clicking the “Add”   
button in the expenditure column will display 
the pop-up shown to the right. You must 
enter the date of the expenditure, the 
purpose of the expenditure, and the 
expenditure amount. The expenditure and 
purpose must be detailed and clear. There 
is a checkbox to indicate the expenditure is 
related to a loan. 

 CONTRIBUTIONS. Clicking the “Add” 
button in the contributions column will 
display the pop-up shown to the right. You 
must enter the date of the contribution, the 
contributor’s name and address, and the 
contribution amount. There are also 
checkboxes to indicate whether the 
contribution was an in-kind, loan, or public 
service assistance. You may add a 
comment, but this is optional. 

STEP 3: ADD A CONTRIBUTION OR EXPENDITURE 

 To add a contribution or expenditure, 
simply click “Add” in the appropriate 
ledger column.  

 

 To the left of the “File Report” buttons 
are columns: 

 

      I = In-Kind Contribution 
      L = Loan 
      A = Report Amendment 
      P = Public Service Assistance 
 

      If a contribution or expenditure falls into   
      these categories, the ledger will note it  
      in these columns. 
  

      In-kind contributions will not affect the  
      balance of your ledger. 

STEP 2: NAVIGATE YOUR FINANCIAL LEDGER (Continued) 
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STEP 5: FILE YOUR REPORTS 

 Before submitting your report, ensure that all of 
your contributions and expenditures have been 
entered into the ledger and are accurate. 

 
      When you are ready to submit a report, click on  
      the report’s “File Report” button at the far  
      right of the ledger. You will be asked to confirm  
      the filing. 
 
      You will receive both an on-screen and email  
      confirmation that you submitted the report  
      successfully. 
            

STEP 4: EDIT OR DELETE A CONTRIBUTION OR EXPENDITURE 

 To delete a contribution or expenditure, 
press the “Delete” button. The 
transaction’s details will be deleted, but 
the transaction’s name will be change to 
[DELETED]. If you delete a transaction, 
it will no longer affect the balance. 

 To edit a contribution or expenditure, 
press the “Edit” button. After editing a 
transaction, it will be noted as an 
amendment. 

 To edit or delete a contribution, click on 
the row of the contribution or 
expenditure. The row will highlight and 
the “Edit” and “Delete” buttons will 
appear. If the report is already filed, the 
“Amend” and “Delete” buttons will 
appear. 



   6 WHEN TO START & STOP REPORTING 

28 

WHEN DO I START REPORTING MY CAMPAIGN FINANCES? 

Once you declare candidacy, receive a contribution, or spend money on campaigning, you must begin 
reporting campaign finances - even if you have not officially declared candidacy or declared intent to gather 
signatures. 

WHEN DO I STOP REPORTING MY CAMPAIGN FINANCES? 

If you lose an election, resign from office, or affirm that you are no longer receiving or expending money, you 
have the option of closing your financial disclosure account. You will no longer need to report your campaign 
finances after closing your account. If you decide to run for office in the future, you must open a new account 
(though you may use the same username) and begin disclosing your campaign finances once you receive a 
contribution or make a campaign expenditure.  

HOW DO I CLOSE MY ACCOUNT? 

You must return or donate your campaign funds to close your account. You may: 

 Pay back loans your campaign received (including loans you made to your own campaign) 
 Return funds to your contributors 
 Donate the funds to another candidate, political party, or PAC 
 Donate the funds to a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization 

To close your financial disclosures account, follow these instructions: 

1. Log into disclosures.utah.gov with your username. Ensure 
that your ledger is updated, your account balance is $0, and 
you have filed the next report. 

 

2. Return to the home page after updating your ledger. Click  
       “My Folder” on the toolbar located on the left of the    
       home page. 

+ 

3.   In the “My Folder” screen, you will notice three red links in  
      the middle of your screen under “Actions.”    
      Click “Manage Folder.” 
  
      (Continued on the next page) 

disclosures.utah.gov


If you fail to adhere to campaign finance and disclosure laws—including failure to file a report by the 
deadline—you may face fines, criminal penalties, and disqualification from the election. The table below 
outlines the penalties for filing a late report: 

REPORT NAME DUE DATE FINE AND/OR PENALTY 

Convention 7 days before convention (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine 

Primary Election June 21, 2016 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine & potential disqualification from the election 

September 30th September 30, 2016 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine & potential disqualification from the election 

General Election November 1, 2016 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine & potential disqualification from the election 

Year-End January 10, 2017 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine 

There are also penalties for failing to report contributions within the 30-calendar day or 3-business day 
requirement (see page 23): 

 10% of each late contribution if it is reported within 60 days after the deadline 

 20% of each late contribution if it is reported more than 60 days after the deadline 

   7 PENALTIES & FINES 
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4.   In the “Manage Folder” screen click the link labeled “Close  
      Account.” 

 

5.   A pop-up will appear and ask for confirmation. Read and click “Submit.” 

HOW DO I CLOSE MY ACCOUNTS? (Continued) 

HOW DO I PAY FINES? 

State and legislative candidates must pay fines through the Lieutenant Governor’s office. You may submit a 
check (made payable to the “State of Utah”) or call the Lieutenant Governor’s office (801-538-1041) to conduct 
a credit card transaction over the phone.  

State and legislative candidates are required to pay the Lieutenant Governor’s office within 30 calendar days of 
receiving the fine. They are subject to a class B misdemeanor for failure to pay within this time period. 

If you fail to file the Primary, September 30th, or General Election reports, you will be fined and given a 24-
hour grace period to file the report. If you do not file the report within this grace period, you will be disqualified 
from the ballot. 



  OTHER    
  INFORMATION 
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SUBMIT YOUR CANDIDATE PROFILE / 
BIOGRAPHY (PAGE 31) 

 

CAMPAIGN REGULATIONS (PAGE 33) 

 

IMPORTANT ELECTION DATES (PAGE 35) 

 

POLITICAL PARTY CONTACT 
INFORMATION (PAGE 36) 

 

COUNTY CLERK CONTACT 
INFORMATION (PAGE 37) 
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  SUBMIT YOUR CANDIDATE PROFILE/BIOGRAPHY 

The Lieutenant Governor’s office provides you with the opportunity to submit a short biography or 
statement that will be publicly available to voters. Your profile may be available in 2 formats: 

VOTER INFORMATION 
PAMPHLET 
(FEDERAL & STATEWIDE 
CANDIDATES ONLY) 

 Over 100,000 pamphlets will be mailed to voters, 

universities, libraries, and senior centers before the 
general election. Pamphlets will be available at  
polling locations and online at vote.utah.gov. 

 Profile features photograph, 100 word statement, and 

contact information. 

 You may submit a profile for the general election only. 

 Pamphlets will available from mid-September until 

Election Day. 

ONLINE AT  
VOTE.UTAH.GOV 
(ALL CANDIDATES EXCEPT         
WRITE-INS) 

 Tens of thousands of voters accessed vote.utah.gov 

during the 2014 election cycle. More are anticipated in 
2016. 

 Profile features biographical information, photograph, 

200 word statement, and contact information. 

 You may submit different profiles for the primary and 

general elections. 

 Profiles will be posted on the website approximately 

40 days before the primary and general elections. 

Your profile must be submitted to the Lieutenant Governor’s office by the following dates and times. 
Because these deadlines are established by law, late submissions cannot be accepted. 

      ELECTION   DEADLINE      CANDIDATES 

Online Profile     Primary Election        May 16, 2016 (5:00 p.m.)     All primary election candidates 

VIP Profile    General Election         July 26, 2016 (5:00 p.m.)     Federal & statewide candidates 

Online Profile    General Election   Sep. 9, 2016 (5:00 p.m.)           All general election candidates 
                        (except write-ins) 

(Continue to the next page for information on how to submit your profile.) 

WHEN DO I SUBMIT MY PROFILE? 

vote.utah.gov
vote.utah.gov
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1) Email the following information to 
elections@utah.gov by 5:00 p.m. on July 26, 
2016: 

 Small photograph. 

 100 word statement. 

 Mailing address, phone number, email 
address, and campaign website. 

VIP PROFILE SUBMISSION 

(FEDERAL & STATEWIDE CANDIDATES) 

1) Go to vote.utah.gov. 

2) Under the heading “CANDIDATES & PARTIES,” 
select “ENTER CANDIDATE PROFILE.” 

3) Enter the password VOTEJUNE2016 for your 
primary election profile or the password 

VOTENOVEMBER2016 for your general election 
profile. 

4) Select your name, enter your biographical 
information, upload a small photograph, and type 
your 200 word statement. 

5) Click “SUBMIT FOR APPROVAL.” 

6) You will receive an email that contains a link to 
edit your profile. This link is the only way to edit 
your profile. 

 PASSWORD 

Primary Election VOTEJUNE2016 

General Election VOTENOVEMBER2016 

! 

ONLINE PROFILE SUBMISSION 

(ALL CANDIDATES EXCEPT WRITE-INS) 

 Frequently Asked Questions    
Q: Is it okay if my statement exceeds the 100 or 200 word limit a little bit? 
     No, these limits are established by law. 
 

Q: I can’t find the email to edit my online candidate profile. What can I do? 
     Check your junk/spam folder. If you cannot locate the email, call the Lieutenant Governor’s office. 
 

Q: The website gives me an error message or will not accept my profile. What do I do? 
     If you uploaded a photograph, check the size of the photograph’s file. If the file size is very large,  
     simply upload a smaller image file. If this doesn’t work, contact the Lieutenant Governor’s office. 
 

Q: What is the password to submit my online candidate profile? 
     Primary election password: VOTEJUNE2016. General election password: VOTENOVEMBER2016 

FA
Qs
 

HOW DO I SUBMIT MY PROFILE? 

vote.utah.gov
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  CAMPAIGN REGULATIONS 

FA
Qs
 

Utah law prohibits certain activities related to campaigning. Familiarize yourself and your campaign staff with 
these laws to avoid possible legal issues, fines, and penalties. The laws listed below are some of the most 
common issues that arise during the campaign season, but this list is not all-inclusive. Refer to Title 20A of the 
Utah State Code for more information. To determine whether there are additional regulations for federal 
candidates, federal candidates should contact the Federal Election Commission (fec.gov). 

BRIBERY 

Any type of bribery is strictly prohibited by Utah law. You cannot bribe or offer anything to anyone to vote, to 
refrain from voting, or to stay away from the polls. Do not offer voters prizes or benefits if they vote for you or 
prove that they voted for you. 

You also cannot bribe other candidates to drop out of the race, to stay in the race, or to perform any other 
action. Paying for endorsements is also prohibited. 

Bribery is taken very seriously in Utah; anyone who commits bribery is subject to a third degree felony. 

 

ADVERTISEMENTS 

If your campaign pays for any type of advertisement (mailers, 
TV, radio, newspaper, outdoor sign, etc.), the advertisement 
must clearly state that your campaign authorized and paid for 
the advertisement. 

If your campaign does not pay for an advertisement, but it is 
approved by your campaign, the advertisement must clearly 
state who paid for the advertisement and that your campaign 
authorized the advertisement. 

This requirement does not apply to certain campaign items: 

 Lawn signs smaller than 4ft. by 8ft. in size 

 Bumper stickers 

 Campaign buttons, stickers, and pens 

 Small items that are too small to conveniently print 
the disclaimer 

  PAID FOR AND 

AUTHORIZED BY THE  

COMMITTEE TO 

ELECT JANE DOE 

CAMPAIGNING NEAR A POLLING PLACE 

When voting is taking place in a building, you are not allowed to 
campaign on public property within 150 feet of the building. This 
includes wearing a campaign shirt, button, or displaying other 
types of campaign materials. You also cannot interfere with 
voters’ right to vote or the administration of the polling place. 

150 FEET 

No Campaign Zone 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/20A.html
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/20A.html
www.fec.gov
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FA
Qs
 

CAMPAIGN SIGNS 

State law does not prohibit you from placing campaign signs on public property, but a city, county, or other 
public entity may prohibit it. Ask the appropriate public entity whether you may place signs on public property. 
If a public entity allow campaign signs on public property, all candidates must be allowed to place signs. 

If you have permission from the property owner, you are allowed to place campaign signs on private property.  

You are not allowed to move, remove, tamper, or vandalize any campaign signs unless the sign is your own; it 
is a class B misdemeanor to do so. 

MASTER BALLOT POSITION LIST 

The order of the names that appear on the ballot is established by a random alphabet—the master ballot 
position list. To view the list, visit elections.utah.gov. 

POLL WATCHERS 

Having poll watchers for your campaign is not required, but you may designate up to three different types of 
poll watchers: 

 Voting poll watcher. This watcher observes voters casting their votes at a polling location. 

 Securing of ballots watcher. This watcher observes election officials securing the ballots. 

 Counting watcher. This watcher observes election officials as they tally the votes. 

To designate a watcher, simply create and sign an affidavit that states that a particular individual will serve as 
a watcher on your behalf. 

Watchers are there to observe the voting and counting processes. They are not there to interfere with any 
voting or administrative processes. Watchers may make written memos, but they cannot communicate the 
progress of the voting or counting in any way. Doing so will result in a third-degree felony. 

USING PUBLIC EMAIL FOR CAMPAIGN PURPOSES 

If you are a current office holder or work in the public sector (including public education), you cannot use your 
public entity email address for campaign related purposes. The fine for the first offense is $250; fines for 
subsequent offenses are $1,000 and over. 

WITHDRAWING YOUR CANDIDACY/DECLARATION OF INTENT TO GATHER SIGNATURES 

 
You may withdraw your candidacy or your declaration of intent to gather signatures by submitting a written 
affidavit to your filing officer. If you withdraw your intent to gather signatures, any signatures you submitted 
prior to your withdrawal will not be verified. 

http://elections.utah.gov/Media/Default/2016%20Election/2016-2017%20Master%20Ballot%20Position%20List.pdf
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  IMPORTANT ELECTION DATES 

FA
Qs
 

2016 PRIMARY ELECTION - JUNE 28, 2016 

DATE EVENT 

January 4, 2016 Declaration of intent to gather signatures period begins 

March 11, 2016 Declaration of candidacy period begins 

March 17, 2016 (5:00 pm) Declaration of candidacy period ends; declaration of intent to gather signature period ends 

2 weeks before convention Petition signatures must be submitted 

7 days before convention Financial disclosure report is due 

1 day before convention Signature gathering candidates are certified for the primary election ballot 

Late March - Late April Parties hold nominating conventions 

May 13, 2016 Ballots are sent to military and overseas voters 

May 31, 2016 Last day to register to vote by sending a form in the mail 

June 7, 2016 Mail ballots are mailed to voters 

June 14, 2016 In-person early voting begins 

June 21, 2016 Financial disclosure report is due; last day to register to vote online or at the county clerk’s office 

June 23, 2016 Last day to request a mail ballot 

June 24, 2016 In-person early voting ends 

June 28, 2016 PRIMARY ELECTION 

July 12, 2016  Final election results must be certified by the county clerk 

2016 GENERAL ELECTION - NOVEMBER 8, 2016 

DATE EVENT 

September 23, 2016 Ballots are sent to military and overseas voters 

September 30, 2016 Financial disclosure report is due 

October 10, 2016 Last day to register a vote by sending a form in the mail 

October 18, 2016 Mail ballots are mailed to voters 

October 25, 2016 In-person early voting begins 

November 1, 2016 Financial disclosure report is due; last day to register to vote online or at the county clerk’s office 

November 3, 2016  Last day to request a mail ballot 

November 4, 2016 In-person early voting ends 

November 8, 2016 GENERAL ELECTION 

November 22, 2016 Final election results are certified by the county clerk 
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  POLITICAL PARTY CONTACT INFORMATION 

FA
Qs
 

CONSTITUTION PARTY OF UTAH 

Address:  P.O. Box 1215 

  Bountiful, UT 84010 

Phone:  (435) 822-5630 or (801) 544-4056 

Website: constitutionpartyofutah.com 

UTAH DEMOCRATIC PARTY 

Address:  825 N. 300 W., Suite C400 

  Salt Lake City, UT 84103 

Phone:  (801) 328-1212 

Website: utahdemocrats.org 

INDEPENDENT AMERICAN PARTY 
OF UTAH 

Address:  4270 Normandie 

  Salt Lake City, UT 84107 

Phone:  (801) 243-5638 

Website: utahiap.org 

LIBERTARIAN PARTY OF UTAH 

Address:  6885 South State Street, Suite 200 

  Midvale, UT 84047 

Phone:  (805) 500-8857 

Website: lputah.org 

UTAH REPUBLICAN PARTY 

Address:  117 E. South Temple Street 

  Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Phone:  (801) 533-9777 

Website: utgop.org 

www.constitutionpartyofutah.com
www.lputah.org
www.utahdemocrats.org
www.utgop.org
www.utahiap.org
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  COUNTY CLERK CONTACT INFORMATION 

FA
Qs
 

BEAVER COUNTY CLERK 
P.O. Box 392 
Beaver, UT 84713 
(435) 438-6463 
 
BOX ELDER COUNTY CLERK 
01 S. Main Street 
Brigham City, UT 84302 
(435) 734-3355 
 
CACHE COUNTY CLERK 
179 North Main Street, Suite 102 
Logan, UT 84321 
(435) 755-1460 
 
CARBON COUNTY CLERK 
751 East 100 North, Suite 1100 
Price, UT 84501 
(435) 636-3224 
 
DAGGETT COUNTY CLERK 
P.O. Box 400 
Manila, UT 84046 
(435) 784-3154 
 
DAVIS COUNTY CLERK 
61 South Main 
Farmington, UT 84025 
(801) 451-3324 
 
DUCHESNE COUNTY CLERK 
P.O. Box 270 
Duchesne, UT 84021 
(435) 738-1228 
 
EMERY COUNTY CLERK 
P.O. Box 907 
Castle Dale, UT 84513 
(435) 381-5106 
 
GARFIELD COUNTY CLERK 
55 S. Main 
Panguitch, UT 84759 
(435) 676-8826 
 
GRAND COUNTY CLERK 
125 E. Center 
Moab, UT 84532 
(435) 259-1321 

IRON COUNTY CLERK 
P.O. Box 429 
Parowan, UT 84761 
(435) 477-8340 
 
JUAB COUNTY CLERK 
160 North Main 
Nephi, UT 84648 
(435) 623-3410 
 
KANE COUNTY CLERK 
76 N. Main St. 
Kanab, UT 84741 
(435) 644-2458 
 
MILLARD COUNTY CLERK 
765 S. Highway 99, Suite 6 
Fillmore, UT 84631 
(435) 743-6223 
 
MORGAN COUNTY CLERK 
P.O. Box 886 
Morgan, UT 84050 
(801) 845-4011 
 
PIUTE COUNTY CLERK 
P.O. Box 99 
Junction, UT 84740 
(435) 577-2840 
 
RICH COUNTY CLERK 
20 South Main 
Randolph, UT 84064 
(435) 793-2415 
 
SALT LAKE COUNTY CLERK 
2001 South State St., #S1100 
Salt Lake City, UT 84190 
(385) 468-7400 
 
SAN JUAN COUNTY CLERK 
P.O. Box 338 
Monticello, UT 84535 
(435) 587-3223 
 
SANPETE COUNTY CLERK 
160 North Main, Suite 202 
Manti, UT 84642 
(435) 835-2131 

SEVIER COUNTY CLERK 
P.O. Box 607 
Richfield, UT 84701 
(435) 893-0401 
 
SUMMIT COUNTY CLERK 
60 N. Main 
Coalville, UT 84017 
(435) 336-3204 
 
TOOELE COUNTY CLERK 
47 S. Main 
Tooele, UT 84074 
(435) 843-3140 
 
UINTAH COUNTY CLERK 
147 East Main 
Vernal, UT 84078 
(435) 781-5361 
 
UTAH COUNTY CLERK 
100 E. Center, Room 3100 
Provo, UT 84606 
(801) 851-8128 
 
WASATCH COUNTY CLERK 
25 North Main 
Heber City, UT 84032 
(435) 654-3211 
 
WASHINGTON COUNTY CLERK 
197 East Tabernacle 
St. George, UT 84770 
(435) 634-5712 
 
WAYNE COUNTY CLERK 
P.O. Box 189 
Loa, UT 84747 
(435) 836-1300 
 
WEBER COUNTY CLERK 
2380 Washington Blvd., #320 
Ogden, UT 84401 
(801) 399-8400 
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