Candidates and Officeholders Disclosures

2016 Financial Disclosure Deadlines

A person is considered a candidate and must begin filing financial disclosure reports if one or more of the following occurs:

  • The individual files for candidacy;
  • The individual receives contributions or makes expenditures related to candidacy for office; or
  • The individual coordinates with any individual or entity to receive contributions or make expenditures related to candidacy for office.

Statewide, legislative, and state school board candidates report with the Lt. Governor's Office on disclosures.utah.gov.

Candidates for public office are required to report contributions received and expenditures made to bring about their nomination or election. The reports must be received by the Lt. Governor's Office by 11:59 p.m. on the due date. If a candidate fails to file the required financial disclosure reports, the Lt. Governor may disqualify the candidate, remove his or her name from the ballot, and impose a fine.

Local school board, county or municipal candidates will file reports will file with the County Clerk or Municipal Recorder (not with the Lt. Governor's Office).

Please note - all candidates must file all reports regardless of whether or not they have raised or spent money. A candidate/officeholder must file a Year End disclosure report until he or she has filed a Statement of Dissolution and filed the final summary report with the Lt. Governor's Office. These steps can be completed through a candidate/officeholder's account on www.disclosures.utah.gov.

Any candidate or officeholder who receives an anonymous contribution that exceeds $50 must donate that contribution to the state treasurer, a political subdivision or to a 501(c)(3) organization (H.B. 91).

In addition to specific reporting deadlines, all candidates/officeholders must report each contribution within 30 days after the contribution was received. During the 30 days prior to convention, the primary election, or the general election, a candidate must report each contribution within 3 business days of receiving it (if the candidate is contested).

 

What happens when the report due date is on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday?

The Election Code extends the deadline to the next business day when a due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday (see Utah Code 20A-1-401). For example, Year End reports are due on January 10 of each year. January 10, 2016 was a Sunday; therefore, the 2015 Year End report was due on Monday, January 11, 2016.


When exactly is seven days before a convention or election date?

The Election Code states that the day of an event is not counted when calculating the number of days before the event (see Utah Code 20A-1-401). For example, if a party convention is held on Saturday, April 23, 2016, then seven days before that convention is Saturday, April 16, 2016. As explained above, since that deadline falls on a Saturday, the report is actually due on Monday, April 18, 2016 and should include contributions received and expenditures made through Wednesday, April 13, 2016.


Aggregating Contributions

Please note that as of May 10, 2016, candidates may no longer report contributions "in the aggregate" (H.B. 290).

Prior to H.B. 290, a candidate or officeholder could report the aggregate value of contributions worth $50 or less. Current law states that each candidate or officeholder must report a detailed listing of each contribution (or public service assistance). This means the candidate or officeholder must report:

  • The name and address of each individual or source making a contribution or public service assistance; and
  • The amount or value or each contribution or public service assistance; and
  • The date each contribution or public service assistance was received. 


State Office Candidates

State office candidates are those running for the office of:

  • Governor
  • Lieutenant Governor
  • Attorney General
  • State Auditor
  • State Treasurer
Type of ReportWho is required to file?Due DateWhat the report includesPenalty for failure to file report by due date
Received Contributions* All state office candidates Within 30 days* of receiving a contribution This report includes "Received Contributions" which have not been reported in any of the required reports listed below. 10% of the amount of each late contribution if it is reported within 60 days after the reporting deadline;
20% of the amount of each contribution if it is reported more than 60 days after the reporting deadline
Convention All state office candidates 7 days before the party convention in even numbered years Expenditures and contributions as of 5 days before the due date.

$100 fine

Primary All state office candidates 7 days before the primary election in even numbered years Expenditures and contributions since the last report as of 5 days before the due date. $100 fine and potential disqualification from election**
September 30th All state office candidates September 30 in even numbered years Expenditures and contributions since the last report as of 5 days before the due date. $100 fine and potential disqualification from election**
General All state office candidates 7 days before the general election in even numbered years Expenditures and contributions since the last report as of 5 days before the due date. $100 fine and potential disqualification from election**
Year End All state office candidates January 10 of every year All expenditures and contributions since the last report through December 31st. $100 fine
Final State office candidates who no longer receive or expend campaign funds and wish to close their campaign. Anytime Statement of dissolution, final summary report with a zero balance. N/A

* Candidates in a contested convention, primary election, or general election must report contributions within 3 days of receipt during the 30 days prior to the convention, primary or general election.

**If a candidate fails to file certain financial reports by the deadline, the candidate is given a 24-hour grace period to file the report before he or she is disqualified from the election. A candidate is still subject to a fine for failure to file a report by the deadline.

The deadline to pay a fine to the Lt. Governor's Office is 30 days after the day on which the fine is imposed
.

State Legislative Office Candidates

Legislative office candidates are those running for the office of:

  • State Senator
  • State Representative
Type of ReportWho is required to file?Due DateWhat the report includesPenalty for failure to file report by due date
Received Contributions* All legislative candidates Within 30 days* of receiving a contribution This report includes "Received Contributions" which have not been reported in any of the required reports listed below. 10% of the amount of each late contribution if it is reported within 60 days after the reporting deadline;
20% of the amount of each contribution if it is reported more than 60 days after the reporting deadline
Convention All legislative candidates 7 days before the party convention in even numbered years Expenditures and contributions as of 5 days before the due date.  $100 fine
Primary All legislative candidates 7 days before the primary election in even numbered years Expenditures and contributions since the last report as of 5 days before the due date. $100 fine and potential disqualification from election**
September 30th All legislative candidates September 30 in even numbered years Expenditures and contributions since the last report as of 5 days before the due date. $100 fine and potential disqualification from election**
General All legislative candidates 7 days before the general election in even numbered years Expenditures and contributions since the last report as of 5 days before the due date. $100 fine and potential disqualification from election**
Year End All legislative candidates January 10 of every year All expenditures and contributions since the last report through December 31st. $100 fine
Final Legislative candidates who no longer receive or expend campaign funds and wish to close their campaign. Anytime Statement of Dissolution. Final summary report with zero balance. N/A

Candidates in a contested convention, primary election, or general election must report contributions within 3 days of receipt during the 30 days prior to the convention, primary or general election.

**If a candidate fails to file certain financial reports by the deadline, the candidate is given a 24-hour grace period to file the report before he or she is disqualified from the election. A candidate is still subject to a fine for failure to file a report by the deadline.

The deadline to pay a fine to the Lt. Governor's Office is 30 days after the day on which the fine is imposed
.

State School Board Candidates

Type of ReportWho is required to file?Due DateWhat the report includesPenalty for failure to file report by due date
Received Contributions* All State School Board candidates Within 30 days* of receiving a contribution This report includes "Received Contributions" which have not been reported in any of the required reports listed below. 10% of the amount of each late contribution if it is reported within 60 days after the reporting deadline;
20% of the amount of each contribution if it is reported more than 60 days after the reporting deadline
May 15th All State School Board candidates May 15th of even numbered years All expenditures and contributions from the end of the last report to 5 days before the due date. $100 fine
Primary All State School Board candidates 7 days before the primary election in even numbered years All expenditures and contributions from the end of the last report to 5 days before the due date. $100 fine and potential disqualification from election**
September 30th All State School Board candidates September 30 in even numbered years All expenditures and contributions from the end of the last report to 5 days before the due date. $100 fine and potential disqualification from election**
General All State School Board candidates 7 days before the general election in even numbered years All expenditures and contributions from the end of the last report to 5 days before the due date. $100 fine and potential disqualification from election**
Year End All State School Board candidates January 10 of every year All expenditures and contributions since the last report through December 31st. $100 fine
Final State School Board candidates who no longer receive or expend campaign funds and wish to close their campaign Anytime Statement of Dissolution. Final summary report with zero balance. N/A

Candidates in a contested convention, primary election, or general election must report contributions within 3 days of receipt during the 30 days prior to the convention, primary or general election.

**If a candidate fails to file certain financial reports by the deadline, the candidate is given a 24-hour grace period to file the report before he or she is disqualified from the election. A candidate is still subject to a fine for failure to file a report by the deadline.

The deadline to pay a fine to the Lt. Governor's Office is 30 days after the day on which the fine is imposed
.

Officeholders

An officeholder who is required to file a Year End summary report both as an officeholder and as a candidate may file a single summary report as a candidate and an officeholder, provided that the combined report meets the requirements of Utah Code.

Type of ReportWho is required to file?Due DateWhat the report includesPenalty for failure to file report by due date
Convention All officeholders 7 days before the party convention in even numbered years Expenditures and contributions as of 5 days before the due date.

$100 fine

Primary All officeholders 7 days before the primary election in even numbered years Expenditures and contributions since the last report as of 5 days before the due date. $100 fine 
September 30th All officeholders September 30 in even numbered years Expenditures and contributions since the last report as of 5 days before the due date. $100 fine 
General All officeholders 7 days before the general election in even numbered years Expenditures and contributions since the last report as of 5 days before the due date. $100 fine 
Year End All officeholders January 10 of every year All expenditures and contributions since the last report through December 31st. $100 fine
Final Former officeholders who no longer receive or expend campaign funds and wish to close their account Anytime once out of office Statement of dissolution, final summary report with a zero balance. N/A

 

How to Submit Reports Electronically
Candidates are required to file financial disclosure reports electronically by using disclosures.utah.gov.
Note: Financial disclosure reports must be received by the Lt. Governor's Office by 11:59 p.m. on the due date. If a candidate fails to file the required financial disclosure reports, the candidate may be disqualified and may be subject to a fine of $100.

Contact the Lt. Governor's Office by email at disclosure@utah.gov or call 801-538-1041 if you have any questions.